Words With Grace Praise All


Robert Ivy Joins The Honorees Of The Noel Polk Award

The American Institute of Architects is commonly referred to as the AIA. Robert Ivy serves the organization as both the Chief Executive Officer and the Executive Vice President. The MIAL or the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters is a nonprofit organization recognizing his achievements and honoring him with the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award. This is the first time in history this award has been bestowed on an architect. The award is usually given to art patrons and artists living in Mississippi. These individuals have demonstrated work during their lives in supporting, performing or creating in the arts considered worth of an extraordinary honor.

Noel Polk award was officially presented to a stained glass artist from Jackson, Mississippi representing the Pearl River Glass Studio and Robert Ivy at a special event on June 2nd. Carl Elefante is the President of the AIA. He made a statement in a release regarding Robert Ivy. He said Mr. Ivy is a practicing architect, an editor and an author. He believes he is a worthy ambassador to the profession of architecture. He also stated the award was a crowning professional and personal achievement for a Mississippi native. He expressed his delight and congratulations for the unique honor he received.

Follow Robert Ivy on Twitter

Robert Ivy joined the AIA in 2011. Prior to this, he served the Architectural Record as the Editor in Chief. He received several awards in this position including an award for the National Magazine. The global footprint of the AIA has grown significantly due to his leadership. This placed the organization at the highest level of membership in a history of 160 years. Robert Ivy is the CEO of AIA. The national architecture fraternity Alpha Rho Chi named Mr. Ivy as a Master Architect in 2010. This is an honorary title bestowed on the more well known architects including R. Buckminster Fuller, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and I.M. Pei, FAIA. Mr. Ivy was honored last year by the Fay Jones School of Architecture at the University of Arkansas with the Dean's Medal. He also wrote Fay Jones in 2001.

Nancy LaForge is the President of the MIAL. She stated in a press release that Robert Ivy is unlike anyone else from Mississippi due to the way he increased the accessibility of architecture for the benefit of the general public. She said he has now taken his rightful place among the honorees of the Noel Polk Award. The previous recipients include Morgan Freeman, Shelby Foote, Eudora Welty, Leontyne Price and Walter Anderson.